Professional Learning Network Plan

When I was asked to create a representation of my professional learning network (LPN), I first wondered what consisted of an LPN. After sitting at the keyboard with a blinking cursor on a blank document, I realized this task was not something a person could simply start writing about. I needed to create a visual representation of what contributed to my learning. Buddhists believe we learn from our experiences and that virtually everything is an experience. I’m not a Buddhist, but I agree with this concept. Considering that, I realized creating a visual representation of everything that made up my professional learning network would be nearly impossible and an endless effort. Therefore, I decided to narrow the scope of my LPN to the digital contributions. I started the bubble image below and discovered my LPN appears to be full of contributors, but also seems to be deficient in a few areas.

For instance, I work for UCC, but have only a few avenues of learning. This could either be because there are few learning opportunities or I haven’t explored all of the opportunities available. It could also be a combination of both factors. I set the UCC bubble out away from the middle with the anticipation of having a large collage of professional learning contributors. Since this my job and source of income, it is probably a good idea for me to explore my options.

I felt my personal digital network contributed since many of my friends and colleagues add to my professional wealth. Many of them are directly connected or provide a conduit to my professional growth. If I had a job where I was in an office and the boss approached me about my social networking activities, I would attempt to convince him or her I was improving my professional learning network. I’m not sure that would fly, but I am sure the argument would be compelling to me.

I also seem to have quite a few contractors around Google. This is a good sign since Google is synonymous with information. Information is always a plus when talking about learning or education. My bubble for Boise State appears to be rather sparsely populated. This could mean I am just getting started (I hope) or it could mean I am already way behind and need to branch out. Either way, this is a sign there is more to add in the future.

As I mention the future, I should also say this plan will continue to grow. It is merely a summation of the depth my professional learning network. In truth, it is a representation of only the digital learning contributors that readily come to mind. If I thought about it, I am sure I could come up with a few more. I suspect some of these contributors will fade away as more are added over the years. As technology and priorities change, so will my professional learning network.

This entry was posted in 501: Introduction to Educational Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment